Z 1372.000 East Fork Baptist Church (Amite County, Miss.) Records
Z 1372.000
EAST FORK BAPTIST CHURCH (AMITE COUNTY, MISS.) RECORDS
MDAH only has microfilm. (MF Roll # 36180)
The East Fork Baptist Church was organized in the home of James Chandler on August 18, 1810. Originally the church was called the "New Constitution on the East Fork of the Amite River." In 1812, a meeting house was built where the church cemetery now stands on land given by Henry Jones, Sr. However, he transferred no title to the land. At this time, the name was changed to East Fork Baptist Church. Upon Henry Jones' death in 1835, the question arose about title to the land where the church was standing and the cemetery beside the church. The land upon which the meeting house was situated was sold to the highest bidder, and the church moved about ¼ mile west of the original site.
This microfilm copy of a single volume includes the minutes of the regular church conferences, February 1830–September 1846. The material copied was a negative photostat of the original volume. Series: 1. Minutes. 1830-1946. 1 volume.